Redmi Note 8 2021, analysis and review


I have to admit that the review of the Redmi Note 8 2021 is perhaps the strangest one that I have come across this year in which we have had a lot of devices.

Out of 256 analyzes that we did throughout the year, 257 with this one, that of this terminal is perhaps the simplest Because it is a mobile that, really, we already knew since 2019, but which is also complicated because it is necessary to answer two questions.

The first is… “why”. Why Xiaomi is launching a 99% phone, just like two years ago when we are in a segment that is advancing by leaps and bounds. The second is, once the launch is assumed, to answer the “for whom is this Xiaomi Redmi Note 8 2021”.

And, precisely, to the latter we will try to answer in this review with which we say goodbye to the year and we enter the middle of 2022.

Redmi Note 8 2021 Display 6.3 “IPS panel | 500 nits of brightness | 2340 x 1080 pixel resolution | 409 ppi | 19.5: 9 aspect ratio | Gorilla Glass 5 ProcessorMediatek G85 RAM 4 GB Storage 128 GB eMMC 5.1 Devices main photos 48 MP f / 1.8 main | 8 Mpx f / 2.2 wide angle | Macro 2 Mpx f / 2.4 | 2 Mpx f / 2.4 depth 13 Mpx f / 2.0 front camera 4000 mAh battery | 18 W load | 22 charger 5 W in the box Operating system Android 11 + MIUI 12.5 Dimensions and weight 158.3 x 75.3 x 8.4 mm | 190 grams Price Around 180 euros Amazon

Sections of the analysis of the Redmi Note 8 2021:

Good design and interesting display, but reminiscent of 2019

Xiaomi did a really good job in 2019 with the design of this template. The frames were adapted to their time, they had a thickness of 8.4 millimeters which was not bad, a weight of 190 grams which was also sufficient and the best: a glass back.

The new model is identical in terms of design (and in a lot of other things, as we’ll see below) and is benefiting from this great work a few years ago.

The phone continues to fit well in the hand thanks to this rear which has a flat finish which really makes the phone appear to be of a higher category than it really belongs to.

We have a headphone jack at the bottom (the best location in my opinion), a location in which you can put a microSD and two SIMs at the same time, the USB-C and the traditional infrared emitter at the top.

I love the design, like I said, but it contains elements from the past that maybe should have been redesigned in this release.

One is the fingerprint reader. It’s conveniently located on the back, but lacks the speed of this year’s capacitive reader. and, besides, it’s inserted slightly inwards, so sometimes I don’t place my finger correctly.

The other holdover from 2019 is the Redmi logo on the chin. My chin doesn’t bother me, in fact there are current mobiles with this even larger area, but I don’t like to see the brand of the phone there.

The screen, however, I think, has held up well over the years. It’s not by far the best display in its price range, but we have a decent IPS panel with 60Hz refresh and FullHD + resolution.

Viewing angles are correct, the tactile experience is too, and I like the color rendering for games and viewing content.

Now, although I think the panel is okay, I think for the price we’re handling 90Hz would have been handy to make the system a bit smoother on some occasions.

What does not convince me is the brightness. And is that, we have 500 nits according to Xiaomi that remain in an average of 853 lux with a difference of 19.9 lux according to our measurements.

It’s not bad at all in its price range and I was actually quite surprised by the measurement, but something I didn’t like too much is that sometimes the auto light sensor becomes a bit crazy and does not adjust the brightness in ambient light, usually having to turn it up a bit manually.

The sound, however, I think in its price range is correct. We have mono sound, something strange in this year when Xiaomi launched even cheaper phones than this with stereo sound, Never mind. It’s the same as in 2019 and there isn’t much to scratch there.

Mediatek G85 and MIUI 12.5 marriage works, but it’s unforgivable that it doesn’t have NFC

Those good feelings with the screen fade a bit when we deal with the phone.

We have the MediaTek Helio G85, a chip that is not bad with its two cores at 2 GHz and its 8 others at 1.8 GHz, but which has a GPU and an amount of RAM below anything MIUI puts in the scene.

Our version is the one with the most RAM, the 4 GB version., and the truth is that sometimes it remains rare and forces me to close an app in order to be able to open a new app stably.

MIUI 1.5 eats a lot and while it’s very stable, and the MT G85 should with what we’re going to be doing on a daily basis, that amount of RAM and type of storage tarnishes the experience.

Note redmi 8 2021Motorola E40POCO M3Huawei P Smart 2021POCO X3 NFCrealme 7ProcesadorMT G85Unisoc T700SD 662Kirin 710ASD 732GMT G95Geekbench1829 Unique355356314299567537Geekbench 5 Multi41u41.326.31.37836. .2259.690

The storage is eMMC 5.1, a type of storage that is slower in reading and writing than UFS 2.1 or 2.2 which could have been implemented and would have improved both application access times and export, eg example, photos that we edit on the mobile.

Not the slowest eMMC in sequential processes, but in random read and write, this is one of the worst we’ve tried in the past few months:

Redmi Note 8 2021Motorola E40POCO M3realme 7Motorola Moto G9 PlusOppo Reno 2Sequential Write138.79MB / s106.29MB / s196.99MB / s145.90MB / s132.07MB / s107.32MB / s Sequential Read219.49.49.4MB / s18 .69 Mb / s 480.70 Mb / s 499.33 Mb / s random write 8.59 Mb / s 12.19 Mb / s 14.71 Mb / s 14.47 Mb / s 14.75 Mb / s 12, 36 Mb / s random read 8 , 85MB / s12.62MB / s12.90MB / s17.19MB / s12.05MB / s19.06MB / s Memory copy speed 4.41GB / s3.75GB / s3, 23GB / s 4.89 Gb / s 4.72 Gb / s 5.12 Gb / s

The day to day experience has been somewhat erratic. You can see MIUI 12.5 is no longer the system that came half-baked a few months ago and now it’s pretty stable, very visual and I like it.

It has several customization settings for us to “play” and that’s to suit your taste, but, like I say, it’s a system that I like when it’s “good”.

Of course, as I commented, I think this is too much for the hardware of this device. Some apps were closed to me, others were slow until I closed the background apps and you could play, but if these are demanding titles you will have to go down to medium or low settings.

Now what about the battery? We have 4000mAh, the same as in the original and the G85 is an SoC built in 12 nanometers.

Between that and the high brightness of the screen, according to my tests I had about five and a half hours Day by day. Some days when the apps aren’t very heavy I go to six and some days when I take an extra photo, play games or watch more video I stay at five.

It really depends on each user, but it’s not an extremely generous battery even if, yes, you should hit the end of the day with no issues. According to our PC Mark test with maximum brightness, we have 8 hours 23 minutes of screen time.

The charge is 18W and the charger in the box is 22.5W. This is something we saw last year from Xiaomi and ultimately it takes 41mins to fill 50% and 108mins to get 100%.

The main camera is solvent … as long as there is good light

And we come to the cameras, the section that has aged the least over the past two years. We have, again, the exact same sensors as in the 2019 model and, really, we’re only going to be using two (one if you’re not into selfies).

The main one has 48 megapixels with f / 1.8 aperture. It’s a half-inch sensor with 0.8 micron pixels and the photos we’ll be taking in good light are fine.

We have good natural background blur, we have good detail and contrast, and although the brighter areas of the image are a bit overexposed, the truth is you can use the camera to immortalize moments without problem.

Inside he doesn’t behave badly, but it takes a lot of light to have clarity and one problem we have indoors, outdoors and at night is that the noise is quite visible. Yes, outdoors also in direct sunlight.

At night, the camera experiences severe slowdown with more washed-out textures, less overall detail, little sharpness, and like I said, a lot of noise in all elements of the scene.

Never mind, with good light it’s saved and the truth is i don’t like it, Absolutely.

We have an 8-megapixel wide-angle with similar processing, but which underexposes too much in certain situations where there are areas of light and shade.

I liked that it didn’t distort the image to the sides, keeping the lines straight competently enough, but the details and textures go down a notch or two from the main sensor.

On the other hand we have two objectives that we are not going to use at all, a 2 megapixel macro which is quite mediocre and the depth camera which does not do much either because the software takes care of this task.

Up front we have a 13 megapixel camera which surprised me with its portrait cutout, calculating hair, beard and glasses quite well and which I think has a good ‘selfie’. Of course, since the sensor is also tiny, noise appears to a minimum.

And in video, we don’t have any kind of stabilization and a maximum of 1080p30. It’s a camera that… well, it doesn’t show off and has a good main sensor, but in its price range there are better alternatives for taking pictures.

Is it worth it to stretch the gum so much to have other really new Xiaomi?

At the start of this Redmi Note 8 2021 test we asked ourselves two questions. I think why launch this model is clear.

The 2019 original was a real hit both for the quality and the price and therefore a success in sales.

Renewing a model so well known to the public, if only by adding a different processor and adding the year in the name, will lead to many potential buyers. For this part, the strategy is clear.

Who is this mobile for? Well, that’s the hardest question to answer. It is true that the screen is good, that the performance is decent and that the design is the best point, but it is also true that there are objectively better and cheaper mobiles.

Without leaving Xiaomi, we have the POCO X3 NFC for around 240 euros, the Redmi Note 10S -analysis- for around 245 euros or the realme 8, my favorite in its price range, for 240 euros. There are even options under 200 euros like the realme 8i which are also a bit higher than this Redmi Note 8 2021.

But of course the choice is yours, totally, and if you were one of those who loved the Note 8 2019, but felt abandoned by a Xiaomi that did not update MIUI in this terminal, this Redmi Note 8 2021 is your mobile.


Comments are closed.